Elected Officials

Elected Officials

Back Row: Commissioner Marla Pearson, Commissioner Brent Barron
Front Row: Commissioner Tom Ganiere, Mayor Robert Hasty, Commissioner Wayne Eichelkraut


The City of Ottawa, incorporated in 1853, operates as a non-home rule municipality. Ottawa is governed under the Commission form of government consisting of a Mayor and four Commissioners. The Mayor and four Commissioners are elected at large at the municipal election and hold office for four years.

Regular meetings of the City Council are held at 7:00 p.m. on the first and third Tuesday each month at City Hall. All residents are welcome and encouraged to attend.

City Council meetings are available via livestream and are videotaped and posted on the City website.

For information regarding agendas items and minutes, go to City Council Minutes & Agendas, or contact the City Clerk’s Office at 815-433-0161. As always, we welcome your phone calls and written correspondence. You may contact any City Council member by phone or e-mail.  For general inquiries you may contact [email protected] or by regular mail to City Hall, 301 West Madison Street, Ottawa, Illinois 61350, or by calling 815-433-0161, extension 110.