Police Department

Police Department

The Ottawa Police Department currently consists of 36 sworn Police officers and 15 non-sworn telecommunicators, records, evidence and parking enforcement personnel. Of the sworn personnel, excluding administrative personnel, 26 are currently assigned to the Patrol Division, 4 to the Detective Division, and 3 to the public schools as School Resource Officers.

It is the mission of the Ottawa Police Department to provide law enforcement services with integrity and dedication.

To preserve life, property, and the individual rights guaranteed by the Constitution of the United States.

To work in partnership with citizen groups and the community as a whole to enhance the quality of life in the City of Ottawa.

To prevent the commission of criminal acts when possible and to fully investigate crimes when the occur and apprehend the criminal offenders.

And to earn the respect of the citizens of Ottawa and all individuals by maintaining a professional, knowledgeable and well-trained police force which is recognized for its’ fairness, tolerance and equality in the discharge of its law enforcement duties.